Show All Answers
One to two cubic yards will fill a full sized (empty) pickup bed. Smaller trucks or short beds, may only hold 1/2 cubic yard. For more information, contact us at 479-271-5954.
Trucks or trailers that are 108 inches tall or less can be loaded. For more information, contact us at 479-271-5954.
North of Tiger Boulevard at 2000 North West A Street. We are on the east side of the road at the top of the hill. For more information, contact us at 479-271-5954.
Answer to the frequently asked question goes here
Yes. Filing fees are $65 for a Small Claims case and $80 for a Civil case plus there is a $2.50 fee for each Summons issued. You also will have to pay a fee to have your complaint served on the other party. The fee varies, but you may serve the other party by Certified Mail, through the Sheriff's office or by employing a private process server. The Court Clerk cannot tell you which method of service is "best". It is a personal choice, the clerk can simply tell you your options.
Small Claims cases involve claims for amounts of $5,000 or less. Civil cases include claims for amount of $25,000 or less. Civil cases also can involve attorneys. If you file a Civil case but do not hire an attorney, you are held to the standard of an attorney when pursuing your case. Further clarification can be found in the Small Claims Handbook as to things that may disqualify you from filing a Small Claims case.
You can obtain a Complaint form online or at our courthouse, 2706 S. Walton, Bentonville, Arkansas. This form is the same for a Small Claims or Civil case.
Yes. The fees are due at the time of filing. Payment should be made in the form of check or Money Order.
Please refer to the Small Claims Handbook for questions about the proper Court in which to file.
Yes. You will have to provide a good address for the Defendant at the time of filing. Without a good address for the Defendant it will be difficult, if not impossible, to serve the paperwork as required by Arkansas law.
The clerk cannot give you legal advice, nor tell you if you have the grounds on which to file a claim. The clerk can explain the options you have when filing a case.
You can file a Small Claims case, which allows each person to represent his/herself. Attorneys are not allowed in Small Claims cases, per Arkansas law.
No. The Court has recently launched a new mediation program. Mediation is offered at no charge to the parties. If both parties agree to mediation, a licensed mediator will listen to both sides and try to help them come to a mutually acceptable agreement which is fully enforceable. For additional information please read the Mediation information sheet.
If you miss your court date you should come to our office the next business day before noon. You will need to sign for a new court date and will also have to answer for the additional charge of Failure to Appear on the original court date. If you do not come to our office the next business day following your missed court date, a warrant may issue for your arrest.
If you would like the Public Defender as your attorney you will have to ask the Judge at your first court appearance. The Judge will review your case, and if he/she determines you might qualify for the Public Defender, will have you complete an Affidavit of Indigence. After reviewing the Affidavit, the Judge will decide whether to appoint the Public Defender to represent you.
Yes. Weapons, firearms and knives of any kind are strictly prohibited and subject to confiscation. Food, drinks and chewing gum are also prohibited. Bags and large purses should not be brought inside and people will be asked to take them back to their car, when that is an option.
We accept cash, checks, money orders and credit or debit cards. When paying with cash, exact change is required. Temporary checks will not be accepted.
Payments can be made at our office during regular business hours, through the mail or online. If sending payment through the mail, please do not send cash. Credit or debit card payments are subject to a 7% convenience fee when paying on online or a 3.5% convenience fee when paying at our office. (This fee is charged by the processing company and does not benefit the court).
Case dispositions are entered on a docket sheet. Copies of your docket can be obtained at our office during regular business hours. There is a minimal copying charge of 25 cents/page. In the alternative, some case dispositions can be obtained online through JusticeWeb (cases from May 2013 and forward). Click the “Report” icon in the top banner. This will give you various report options. Choose the “Name Search” report. Enter the requested information and you will have the ability to print out your docket.
TextPower is a text messaging service that provides BEUD customers with real-time information about electric outages. This can include estimated restore time, number of customers affected, and any known cause of the outage.
No need to sign up! On April 27th, any electric customers with a mobile phone number as the primary contact on their account will be auto-enrolled and will receive the welcome message from 1-800-286-1262.
You can verify or change the phone number on your account by visiting the online account portal. After logging in, navigate to “My Profile”, then “Update Account info”, and save changes to your phone number. You can also call 479-271-3100 option 1 to speak with a customer service representative to update your number.
You will only receive text messages when your account is affected by a power outage.
No, you will not receive messages from 1-800-286-1262 that are not related to a power outage.
No, this service is provided by the City of Bentonville, however standard data and text messaging rates from your phone carrier will apply.
Yes, the 1-800 number can be dialed to reach our automated outage entry system or a live operator. The number can now receive text messages from customers. Save this number in your phone contacts and you will always be ready to report an outage via whichever method you choose.
The system will ONLY recognize the following inputs:
A BEUD representative can add additional phone numbers to receive text messages by contacting us at 479-271-3135 Option 2, 7:30 AM-4:00 PM, Monday-Friday. All phones linked to the account will receive updates from the system. Please have your 11 digit account number available when calling BEUD.
Simply reply to the welcome message with the word “QUIT”. You will receive a confirmation message that your phone will no longer receive messages about electric outages.
The system will auto assign numbers to each address during auto-enrollment. When you text the word "out", the system will respond that you have more than one account tied to your phone and will list all the addresses and a corresponding number. Respond with "Out" followed by a space and the corresponding number to report an outage (Ex. "Out 2" or "Out 4").
Contact BEUD from 7:30 AM-4:00 PM, Monday-Friday at 479-271-3135 Option 2. A representative can assist you with adding your phone number to your family members account. Please have the 11 digit account number of your family member available when calling BEUD.
Text the keyword “COB” to 1-800-286-1262 to re-enroll.
You will need to speak to a customer service representative to cancel the outage. call 479-271-3135 option 2 between 7:30AM - 4:00 PM, Monday-Friday. For all other days and times, call the after-hours outage number at 1-800-286-1262.
Yes, if your account is affected by a known device outage (such as a transformer, fuse or substation outage). If there is an outage that is only affecting your house, you must report the outage yourself in order to receive updates on the outage.
The power may be out only in your home our business, which may not actually be caused by a problem in the BEUD electric system. You will only receive a text message about an outage you did not report if a BEUD dispatcher has verified an outage in our outage system.
No, you can only use text reporting for accounts that are associated with your mobile phone number.
First, check your breaker panel and make sure no breakers are tripped. Also, check your main breaker. The main breaker may be located inside the house in your breaker panel, or it may be outside by the meter. If you have checked all the breakers and the power is still not on, reply to the restoration message with OUT, or call 1-800-286-1262 to report the outage via phone.
No, do not report this type of problem via text message. If you see a downed power line or other potentially hazardous condition involving electrical equipment, call us at 1-800-286-1262 to speak to a live operator, or call 911. While you wait for BEUD crews to arrive, stay away from the line and keep others away from the area as the ground or surrounding objects such as fences may become energized.
If you have reported a power outage during or after a storm, it is likely that there are multiple outage reports being entered in our system. If you haven’t gotten an estimated restore time or cause message yet, it is because BEUD dispatchers are still working to dispatch and assess all of the outages.
Restoration times are estimates based on the information we have about the outage. We can make good estimates on how long it typically takes to restore different types of outages based on historical data, but each outage time will vary based on individual circumstances.
No, the estimated restore times are based on historical data and feedback from the crews in the field. This is to give our customers an idea of when their power will be restored to help you plan and await restoration. However, the actual restoration time may be longer or shorter than the estimate.
Welcome to Bentonville! Visit the Your Home page for resources like signing up for utilities, license your pet and more.
Visit our City Council page to get contact information for our members.
Start your career with the City of Bentonville by visiting our Human Resources Employment page.
The award recognizes Bentonville property owners who enhance the integrity of the city’s historic properties. This is achieved by appropriate additions and/or exterior renovations to existing structures and compatible new construction. "Historic" is defined as a structure that is approximately 50 years old or older, and embodies distinctive characteristics of a type, period or method of construction. A structure may also be designated as significant for its association with events or individuals that are important on a local, regional, national, or global level. In order for a structure to be designated as significant, it must retain a high level of historic integrity. A structure may also be significant if it is listed in or is eligible to be listed in the Arkansas Register of Historic Places or the National Register of Historic Places.
Bentonville’s history is important. Ongoing efforts to protect our city’s historic assets sustain the feeling of a rich community history that forms the heart of Bentonville. To recognize the accomplishments of those who have taken a committed role in the preservation of Bentonville’s historic integrity, the city created the historic preservation award.
Evaluation criteria are based on four categories:
Any citizen, organization, business or agency may submit a nomination for property within the Bentonville city limits. You may nominate your own property or nominate someone else by filling out the application (PDF). All entries must be received by Wednesday, May 31, 2017.
Winning applications will be selected by a five member panel consisting of one City Council member, one Planning Commission member, two city staff, and a member at large.
Winners are honored by the Mayor at the second regular City Council meeting in May to coincide with National Historic Preservation Month. The winner is presented with a decorative yard sign designating their property as a winner. A photograph of the winner and property will be placed in the city’s newsletter, the “Bentonville Focus”.
The Staff Attorney acts as in-house counsel and provides legal guidance and support for elected city officials, city departments, and boards and commissions in conducting City business. The office represents the City before judicial and administrative agencies in civil litigation proceedings; and prosecutes all traffic and misdemeanor violations occurring within the limits of the city of Bentonville. Felony criminal matters in the City of Bentonville are handled by the Benton County Prosecutor's Office. For more information contact Camille Thompson.
You can expect an arraignment, plea discovery and if needed a trial. For more information, visit our Ticket or Citation page.
No. The Staff Attorney's office advises the City, which has the status of a municipal corporation. The Staff Attorney and Legal Department personnel are ethically prohibited from providing legal advice to individuals regarding private legal matters. These matters must be handled by attorneys retained by the individuals. You may search for attorneys who are members of the Arkansas Bar Association.
The Bentonville City Code and City Ordinances can be found online through through the City of Bentonville’s Website.
Under the Government Tab, click on the Code of Ordinances, next select the Bentonville Municipal Code Link.
No. You should follow the options provided on the ticket. Contact us at 479-271-5956 for more information.
No. Cases are not assigned to the City Prosecutor's Office until after your first appearance. You should appear at your first appearance, or arraignment hearing, before the City Prosecutor will speak with you. For more information, contact us at 479-271-5956.
Discovery will be available upon request after your second court appearance, termed a Plea Discovery Appearance. This documentation will be mailed out by our office. In addition, the City of Bentonville Prosecutor’s office maintains an open file policy.If you have an attorney, discovery will be provided to your attorney, free of charge, prior to the Plea Discovery date. If you are not represented by an attorney and would like to request a copy of the discovery, please make a written request to the Bentonville City Prosecutor’s Office at:
1000 SW 14th St.Bentonville, AR 72712
You can also access your pending case(s) information and most current court dates by going to https://justiceweb.bentonvillear.com/justiceweb. Select the Reports tab at the top, there you will be able to search by your name and date of birth in order to access your pending case(s).
Depending on the violation(s) on the citation as well as your driving record, the Judge and Prosecutor may be willing to put your charge under advisement.
Yes, as long as the citation is not marked as Must Appear and payment is made prior to the court date. All payments can be made through Bentonville District Court. Please contact their office at 479-271-3120 for further.
You can also resolve eligible traffic citations without appearing in court online at www.courtinnovations.com/ARBDC. Please visit the website for further information.
Please contact the Legal Department at 479-271-5956 and give a description of the crime involved, including the location and approximate date of the incident. The Legal Department Staff will determine the status of your case for you.
You should contact the City's Case Coordinator at 479-271-5956 and she will work with you, the City Prosecutor and the Bentonville District Court to obtain restitution.
The prosecutor and investigator assigned to this office will need to know about the request, but whether or not the charges will be dropped is within the prosecutor’s discretion. For more information, contact us at 479-271-5956.
Many people get confused because both offices are located in Bentonville. The City of Bentonville takes complaints and prosecutes misdemeanor cases that are committed within the Bentonville City Limits. For example: Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Number 1 Number 2 or Number 3, Shoplifting under $500, Battery, traffic citations and City ordinance violations.
The Benton County Prosecutor’s office takes complaints and prosecutes on felony level cases. For example homicide: DWI Number 4, hot checks, shoplifting over $500. The County Prosecutor’s Office also handles misdemeanors which occur in Benton County (outside of a city). In addition, the county prosecutes juveniles and felony domestic violence cases. The Benton County Prosecutor’s Office may be reached at 479-271-1030.
No. Bentonville District Court hears misdemeanor and traffic cases prosecuted by the Benton County Prosecutor’s Office as well as the Bentonville City Prosecutor’s Office. As a general rule, if your citation was issued by a Bentonville Police Officer, it will be handled by the Bentonville City Prosecutor.
If your citation was issued outside the Bentonville City limits by a Benton County Deputy or Arkansas State Trooper, then it will generally be handled by the Benton County Prosecutor. For more information, contact us at 479-271-5956.
We do have resources available for victims of domestic violence. For more information, please contact us at 479-271-5956 and request to speak to our Investigator assigned to this office.
To pay a fine or ticket, please visit:Bentonville District Court2706 S. Walton Blvd.Bentonville, AR 72712
Yes, we fingerprint citizens on Tuesday’s between 08:00am to 12:00pm by appointment only.
We charge a fee of $10 per fingerprint card. Please bring fingerprint cards with you provided by your employer, organization, or entity requesting the fingerprints. If one needs fingerprint cards, one can print standard FBI fingerprint cards from the FBI website, please follow their website’s printing instructions.Contact Lt. Michael Martin at 479-271-5967 or Sgt. Andrew Albers at 479- 271-5979 to schedule an appointment.
Accidents are available at the police department or access accident reports online. To order an accident report online, the requester must know the report number (available when the report is taken at the scene), the report date, and/or the last name of a person involved in the accident. Accidents are $10 online and $5 at the Police Department.
Case reports are available in person at the police station and cost $0.06 per page. Please note that case reports are not available when in an open investigation status.
The initial cost of a sewer tap is $125.00. There could be other fees such as: Street Cuts, Sidewalk Cuts, Curb Cuts - these are calculated by the Street Department. The Water Utilities Department will need to go to the site and assess the job first.
A Traffic Light is located at a road intersection with a red, yellow, and green light that facilitates traffic flow. A Street Light is the light that illuminates an area of space for safety reasons.
Use bentonville311.com to report the issue. This will allow you to track your request as progress is made and keep your concern in a database for City accountability.
You may also can contact the Traffic Signal Shop at 479-271-3165, but we asks that you utilize bentonville311.com for fastest response.
You may also can contact the Electric at 479-271-3135, but we asks that you utilize bentonville311.com for fastest response
The painted markings indicate the approximate locations of utility lines. When this occurs some form of maintenance is planned for that area.
Please call the police dispatch number at 479-271-3170 and they will dispatch an animal control officer out.
The Street Department road priorities during snow removal are the arterial roads followed by the collector streets and then the local roads. To view these roads please look at the master street plan for the classifications of streets. This is a very slow process due to the amount of equipment and employee manpower.
Typically it takes 24 to 48 hours to cover the entire City with at least one pass from one of the plow trucks depending on the amount of snow and ice accumulations.
As of the 2010 Census, the population was 35,301.
There are 260.66 linear miles of city maintained streets.
You can apply at:
City of Bentonville Department of Human Resources117 W Central2nd FloorBentonville, AR 72712Phone: 479-271-5929 or 479-271-3191
You can get a map from the City of Bentonville Mapping Department. They can be contacted at 479-271-6826
You can go to the City of Bentonville Planning Department page and get the application and information concerning adopting a street or call 479-271-6826.
Weather conditions can be found from the Arkansas Highways website.
View the Arkansas State Highway website, or contact one of the offices:
Arkansas State Highway District 9 OfficeP.O. Box 610Harrison, AR 72602-0610Phone: 870-743-2100
Arkansas State Resident Engineer's Office3700 Highway 112Bentonville, AR 72712Phone: 479-273-7634
Arkansas State Highway & Transportation Main OfficeP.O. Box 2261Little Rock, AR 72203-2261Phone: 501-569-2000
The account number is the Customer ID hyphen Location ID with no additional characters or spaces before or after.
Our physical address for Utility Billing is 1000 SW 14th Street
Extensions may be requested once every three months by calling 479-271-3100. Payments scheduled online for a future date will not act as an extension or prevent a disconnection.
After you have service for twelve months, you can choose to sign-up for the City’s Average Billing Program.
Your bill is based off of consumption during the indicated billing period. Please review each service for increases in consumption. Call our office at 479-271-3100 for additional information.
Dog licenses can be purchased at the Utility Billing office in the City Administration Building located at 1000 SW 14th Street with cash or check. Click here for pricing.
Should you need a cart repaired or to report your cart missing, please contact Republic Services directly at 479-855-4226.
Call Republic Services directly at 479-855-4226 to schedule the collection. You can have one large item a week collected.
View and pay your bill at www.invoicecloud.com/bentonvillear.
You will need your account number and last name. Please note your first bill must generate before registration can take place. Click here for registration instructions.
Any amount past due is subject for disconnection eleven calendar days after the original due date. The due date on the current bill only applies to the Total Current Charges.
Payments made after 8:00 a.m. on the day of disconnection may not stop a disconnection from taking place. If disconnection takes place, additional fees will be required to reconnect service. For more information, to stop a disconnection, or to reconnect service, please call 479-271-3100.